top of page

Week 11: Public Speaking

This week, I, unfortunately, could not keep my promise and expand my Sutori page. The platform gave me a trial period, which had expired. Sadly, the license is quite pricey, so I hesitated to purchase it, and now I only have access to a very limited number of features and tools. I was especially disappointed to lose an ability to add quizzes to the page, for I sought, above all, to make the page interactive. I can still add text entries and images, but the information itself is readily available in book and online, so I will not be filing any needs by adding more. Besides, some concepts are easier to memorize and master through a process of trial and error, which is what I tried to recreate with the quizzes. In any case, whatever I have already completed on the platform will remain, so, if Dr. Amanda Snyder will decide that such content is a good fit for the History Lab, I can reconsider an upgrade and continue expanding it.



I also began working on the joint slideshow that Stephen and I will be presenting at the end of the next week. Aside from the conventional slides featuring speaker’s bullet points (attached is a draft of our introduction slide), I am specifically trying to find an appropriate solution for featuring the content Stephen and I have created for the History Lab without overcrowding the presentation. I am also a little nervous about public speaking because English is my second language, so an extemporaneous method of presenting a speech does not always go as planned for me. Moreover, we will be presenting over Zoom, which will present its own challenges, for example, low connection speed, sound issues, etc. Finally, since Stephen and I will be sharing this presentation, which will be graded, I want to make sure that his grade is not affected because of my errors. As a result, even though I am a little nervous, I decided to prepare as much as possible and begin practicing in advance.


On the day of the presentation, I hope to be present (and therefore fully prepared) and treat the internship showcase as an opportunity to learn from other interns instead of stressing about my own slideshow.

Recent Posts

See All

Week 10: Points of View

This week was very quiet, but Stephen and I took this chance to meet over Zoom and discuss our shared presentation for the History Department’s internship showcase - a virtual event that will provide

bottom of page